New York – Week One

In light of my recent arrival to New York City, I thought I would post a double entry this week. The first will be a summary of my time in the city for the first seven days, and the second will be a few lessons I have learned and observations I have made about the city so far.

Arrival and First Few Days

To be entirely honest, my arrival into New York City was not entirely smooth and easy (but it did get increasingly easier and more pleasant throughout my day of arrival). It began on the plane, where in accordance with my usual clumsiness, I spilled cranberry juice all over myself. Needless to say, I was less than pleased with my lack of coordination, in addition to how freezing it was on the plane.

I suppose I should have savored the air conditioning on the plane flight over, because the second I stepped out onto the streets of Manhattan, it was hot and humid. I unpacked my bags, briefly met my roommate, and then put on some shorts and sneakers and went out to find something to eat for dinner. I had some sort of a cheesy calzone sort-of-thing at a small Italian restaurant a few blocks away from my building. It was pretty good, but as soon as I finished dinner and resumed exploring my neighborhood, I found a hundred other healthier places to eat. Typical. However, I have all summer to discover the various food scenes in the city, and Italian is always good comfort food. I continued wandering and eventually discovered the Flatiron Building (it was a Friday evening, and there were of course a thousand tourists taking pictures), and an organic grocery stores (whose prices for produce were through the roof), and a few yummy looking yogurt shops which I am leaving to try until it gets really hot.

Saturday morning I got up early (the sun rises around 6 here) and went out for a stroll. I made a few pleasant discoveries, stumbling across Kleinfeld (a bridal boutique featured in a trashy reality tv show my friends and I like to watch/bash) and a farmer’s market in Union Square. I returned to my building around 10 and met up with my cousin Charlie, who showed my how the subways work. We did a trial run of how to get to the City Council Legislative Office downtown, but unfortunately, the trains were not running uptown that weekend, so I was left to figure out how to get to the District Office if I was placed there after my internship orientation on Monday. After riding the rails, Charlie and I met up with his wife Andrea at her new school in Midtown and had lunch. They dropped my off at my building and I took a nap for a few hours, before going out and buying groceries, hangers, and other things I needed for my room. I returned completely exhausted.

On Sunday, it was slightly overcast, and predicted to rain. In the morning, the weather looked decent enough to go out, so I decided to go uptown and see of the trains were running (they weren’t, not all the way up to the District Office in Hamilton Heights). Since I couldn’t take the train up to Hamilton Heights, I got off at West 96th Street and wandered over to a Riverside Park, which runs along the Hudson River between 72nd and 125th Streets. I walked along the water until I reached the end of the park, and then went and got lunch and  walked through a farmer’s market which was set up along Broadway. At the end of the farmer’s market was Lincoln Square! I have always wanted to visit it, but have never had the chance. It’s a really nice square with a pleasant fountain during the day, and I’m sure it’s gorgeous at night. I continued walking down Broadway until I reached Times Square, then veered off and walked along 8th Avenue until I passed the New York Times Building. I have to say, seeing where the New York Times is published was one of the more amazing moments I’ve had since I’ve been here. I can’t imagine what it must be like to work there and know the extent of your publication’s reach. By the time I got back to my building, I had walked about 70 blocks and I was completely exhausted. I relaxed in my room and soon after, it started pouring! I spent the rest of the night in my room. Unluckily, my roommate left to walk the High Line right before the rain began. She came back drenched!

Work

On Monday I had ‘intern orientation’ at the City Council Legislative Office downtown. I had little trouble getting there on the subway, and had enough time to stop for a coffee before finding the building and getting checked in. The orientation was very low key, one of the staffers just told us how New York City government works and how legislation is created and enacted. After that she explained what Mark is currently working on (events, projects, legislation, etc), she asked each of us what we would be interested in helping out with and from there assigned us an office and a supervisor to report to. I was assigned to the District Office in Harlem Heights, so I am working uptown. After we received our assignments, we had a brief lunch break (I found a casual restaurant which had a great salad with chicken, goat cheese and grapes), then returned to the office to get our City Council IDs issued.

The next day I reported to the District Office. The interns sat down with one of the primary staffers here and discussed what projects we would be interested in helping with. I told the staffer that I would like to be involved in the organization of a health fair our office is holding for the West Harlem community this Sunday at Riverbank State Park along the Hudson. Since the event is coming up soon, that’s what I’ve been working on for the last week. I also said I would be interested in helping form community groups to advocate for the maintenance of city parks, which is something I will probably be starting with after this week. Our city council member also is very involved in providing affordable housing and rent rates for low-income communities and passing legislation that protects various human rights in the city, including religious rights and access to public services, such as transportation, education, health care, and open green space.

So far I am enjoying work and feel like I am learning a lot! What I do each day varies, but it almost always involves answering emails and phone calls. Sometimes I walk around the local area and hand out information packets/flyers to community members and speak to local businesses about donating money, food, supplies, or services. I also take phone calls from constituents regarding issues other than the projects I am working on, and often give them direction about how to address and resolve their issues. Our office aims to make New York City a more livable city, with equal access to opportunity for all of its residents.

This week I am attending something called “Participatory Budget Training”. Participatory Budgeting is something the New York City Council has enacted, in which one million dollars from the budget of each individual district is set aside for the residents of that community to decide how to use. The only rules are that the money has to be spent on something tangible (it has to be a physical object) and it should last five years, if treated well. Some examples of this would be new computers in a school or planting trees at a park. The training is where interns, staffers, and community members of our district get oriented on how to learn a participatory budget discussion and how to help the local community members decide where to allocate their money. I have never been so involved in real politics in action, and also have never witnessed such a large amount of money being given to a community in need of it, so I am very proud to be a part of this. New York City is trying to simultaneously provide services for its citizens and create a more permanent democratic process.

Adjusting to City Life

So far, this hasn’t been as hard as I might have expected. There is a ton of food in New York (although it can get very expensive if you are not careful about where you buy it), and it is extraordinarily simple to get around on public transportation. I have only gotten turned around on the subway a few times, and when I have, it was fairly simple to find my way back to where I needed to be. I bought an unlimited subway pass, which allows me to swipe and ride as many times as I like for a flat monthly fee.

The weather here has been unreliable at best. It has rained almost every day, but the temperature reaches at least 80 degrees sometime during the day as well. I have gotten used to wearing a short sleeve shirt and taking a blazer with me to work for when it is overcast or raining. It’s either warm or cold in the morning or afternoon, and it flips every day. Sometimes sun in the afternoon, sometimes early in the day. Entirely unpredictable, but provides a good topic for office complaining when everything else is functioning fine. Otherwise, when the weather is holding, everyone makes noise about the latest in subway traffic or police shootings (the shootings not necessarily in our area, we mostly discuss national news).

Food is pretty easy to find. There are tons of markets, delis, grocery stores, and drug stores. Some are more expensive, others are fairly affordable. I find that if you want good produce, you should splurge at one of the medium-expensive grocery stores to get quality fruit and vegetables, but bread, snacks, and frozen foods can be purchased anywhere and the product will be the same. I am enjoying discovering all the various bakeries and sweet shops around town. I am letting myself try one or two a week. Everyone here seems pretty fond of the chains, both national and local, such as Dunkin’ Doughnuts (for coffee and breakfast pastries), Pret A Manger, which stocks generic health foods and lunch items. I haven’t yet gotten around to trying many chains, as I prefer to spend my money on local specialties. I still haven’t caved and

I haven’t really made any friends here yet (yes, I am admitting to this publicly). Our building at the Fashion Institute isn’t designed with any common areas, and I haven’t met anyone just hanging around in the building. So far, most of the girls I have met (through my roommate and her friends, they are fairly social), are fashion majors and are equally as vapid and melodramatic as my roommate. It’s hard to find interests in common with someone who reads Cosmopolitan magazine more often than the New York Times.

I don’t really have an issue with not making many friends immediately. I work long hours (9:30 to 5:30 at the office- 8:30 to 6:30 if you count the commute time), and I basically shower, eat dinner and go to bed when I get back. I attempted to go to an event for summer interns sponsored by the Fashion Institute on Saturday, but no one showed up. Oh well, I’ll meet people eventually. For now, I’m enjoying wandering by myself and spending time with visiting family. I’ve also starting bonding with the staffers and interns at my office. They are all so thoughtful, worldly, and each have fascinating life stories to tell. Everyday I am thrilled to be able to work and socialize with such unique and amazing human beings, and the fact that I am valued as an integral part of an outstanding team.

Family

So far two of my family members have visited New York/me, and I’ve only been here a little over a week! Imagine my surprise when I found out on Wednesday, through Facebook, that my cousin Lena would be in the city for two days! I immediately got in contact with her, and we were able to have dinner together and walk around the city on Thursday evening. We spent a few hours chatting at a nice Asian fusion restaurant near Times Square. After we had dinner, we wandered through Times Square and I had the privilege of showing her the bright city lights. We walked until we could see the Empire State Building in all its glory, and then I took Lena on her first subway trip on the return trip back to her hotel. It was such a joy to be able to catch up with her! I miss the parts of our family that we don’t get to see every year!

My dad and his girlfriend Julie also came out to New York City this past week. Julie flew out earlier than Dad, to visit her mother upstate, and Dad arrived on Saturday. We had dinner and watched one of Julie’s family members perform in a jazz trio at a Mediterranean restaurant and then went out to ice cream at a parlor which offered half regular flavors and half Asian flavors (like corn and siracha, wow!). On Sunday, we met up near Times Square and took the train down to One World Trade Center to go up to the observatory deck of the Freedom Tower. It opened the day I arrived in New York City, and already it has had almost 100,000 visitors (in less than two weeks!). This was a truly amazing experience. It begins with a journey under the building, giving visitors the opportunity to view the bedrock foundation. Then, you get in a elevator and take a 60 second journey to the top of the tower (the 102nd floor). During the quick ride, a lightening fast video plays on the elevator walls, displaying the rapid growth of the city from uninhabited swamp land to growing settlement to bustling metropolis. It is one of the most innovative experiences I have ever experienced. You then are sheparded into a room in which you watch a short, but dramatic promotional video of the main highlights of life in New York City, and as the music builds and climaxes, the walls open and the incredible view of the city is revealed. After that you head to the observatory deck and are free to wander around, as it is indoors with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and is quite large. I, of course, took many photographs of the Freedom Tower, the 9/11 Memorial, and the view from the observatory deck. I also purchased the most expensive postcards in the world. But they are gorgeous and I can’t wait to send them.

After we left the World Trade Center, we took the train over to the Meatpacking District to take my computer to the Apple Store and get brunch. We ate at the Standard Grill, and I had a fabulous egg white vegetable frittata. When we finished lunch we walked over to the Gansevoort Market and got dessert (I got mint chocolate chip ice cream for the second day in row- I still am meaning to try the pastries at the stall next door). We ate our sweets and walked along the High Line, which was slightly less busy than the day before. After they dropped me off at my building, Dad and Julie went off to the Tony’s and I took a nap and then walked out to the waterfront along the Hudson River to take pictures of the sunset.

Rewinding to Weekend Two

I had a really long and exhausting first week of work, so I didn’t do anything Friday night. I just went back to my building and took a nap (it’s becoming a habit). I got up early on Saturday, planning to go to the gym, only to discover that it doesn’t open until 11 on Saturdays. Deciding I would just go out later, I went back to my room, showered, ate breakfast, and then went down to the lobby to see if anyone had showed up for the planned Central Park event for summer interns. When no one showed up (it seems like everyone staying in my building is too cool for university sponsored events, as well as too cool to bother talking to each other), I just went out exploring on my own. I walked across town over to 2nd Avenue, and then down 2nd, through the East Village and down a park in the Bowery, eventually finding my way to Nolita and the north end of Chinatown. During my stroll I popped into a bakery and a music store, but didn’t buy anything at either establishment.

On my way to lunch, I stumbled across the cutest chocolate shop I have ever seen. They sell the most gorgeous bon-bons and other chocolate products I have ever seen. Because of how expensive the bon-bons were ($3.50 each), I limited myself to buying just two. I wished I could save them for my dad and Julie, but they began melting in the sun, so I ate them after my lunch. I found a small Middle Eastern lunch restaurant, and got a falafel pita to go, sitting in DeSalvio Park across the street. When I was done with lunch, I wandered through SoHo, and perused a few books in a bookstore. As much as I wanted to buy something, the likelihood that I would actually finish another book here is minimal, and I don’t want to have to lug another heavy item home. I also own two Nooks.

I continued walking, taking in the sights and sounds of lower Manhattan. I finally found Washington Square Park, and got to see the fountain and arch in person! This was really exciting, because I have seen it in so many tv shows, movies, and pictures from my friends who go to school in New York. It is absolutely quintessential New York, with jazz quartets playing to sunbathers by the fountain and hipsters in page-boy hats drinking coffee while facing off in chess matches. My journey, seemingly never ending now (and stretching into its four hour), again resumed as I walked past NYU and into Greenwich Village. I quickly bypassed upscale stores with fashionable clothing designed for women built like sticky, pre-pubescent girls in favor of snapping pictures of the beautiful brownstones and browsing collections of stationary at upscale bookstores. I also stumbled across Magnolia Bakery, once featured in an episode of ‘Sex and the City’, one of my favorite tv shows set in New York City. I got a red velvet cupcake, my absolute favorite, but was disappointed when it was less than spectacular. When I got back, I read on Yelp that most people agree that their cupcakes aren’t overly spectacular. I guess I will have to move on to other bakeries.

Now headed home, I walked north to the Meatpacking District and discovered Gansevoort Market (and subsequently brought my dad and Julie back the next day- I still haven’t been to Chelsea Market, it’s on my list). It’s a rustic, old warehouse converted into an open air market with various food stalls. The fair varies, from Thai food to green juice to gelato. Much of the food is organic and all of it seems to be freshly made in front of your eyes. Despite still being full from lunch, all of the alluring smells made my mouth water. I proceeded to walk home along the High Line after leaving the market. Even though it was packed with tourists, I persisted for the sake of the gorgeous pictures. I made a grocery stop on the way back to my building, and then Skyped with my mom and sister and soon after, met up with my dad and Julie, who had just arrived in the city.

Ok, I’m sure that was very overwhelming for anyone who actually made it to the end. I am including pictures as well, because it’s so hard to describe the buildings and what the city actually feels like without them. My next post will be the lessons I have learned in the city during my first week, and then I won’t bother you again with all my word vomit until the end of next weekend when I have a bunch more interesting things to tell you.

The view from my room at Fashion Institute of Technology, Kaufman Hall. I live on the 14th Floor.

The view from my room at Fashion Institute of Technology, Kaufman Hall. I live on the 14th Floor.

1466039_10206844728779652_3138820564567290598_n

My first adult grocery shopping trip, in which I had to buy food for an entire week.

1545183_10206849138569894_2469045648018177538_n

Riverside Park, along the Hudson.

1779671_10206892314169257_9207485147553758247_n

Sweets at the Gansevoort Market.

1795507_10206891232742222_5773156735484761132_n

Meatpacking District.

1907484_10206878940434922_5938957637463859579_n

Lena below the Empire State Building in midtown Manhattan.

1912313_10206853619241908_5554257187877007499_n

The inside of the post office down the street from my building.

1948115_10206844723459519_4464805283444178769_n

Stumbled across a movie being filmed in Chelsea.

10257818_10206891232342212_6662297008921919577_o

An adorable cake at Magnolia Bakery in Greenwich Village.

10325206_10206891233622244_4488403955433437583_n

Mouthwatering wood-fired pizza at the Gansevoort Market.

10336600_10206891230742172_4532177305094561210_n

A jazz trio performing in Washington Square Park on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.

10464221_10206891232102206_4140445757951853280_n

Elegant brownstones in Greenwich Village.

10489631_10206878940274918_6203255908606909300_n

Lena at Times Square.

10668894_10206849142089982_7477770655391606875_o

Heaven exists.

11018057_10206895268163105_5014214098744535210_n

The north end of the High Line with a view of the Hudson River.

11053317_10206849139089907_5760757809082569725_n

A marina along the Upper West Side on the Hudson River.

11054472_10206853632362236_8734096505874247705_n

The magic when you find a bookstore like this- Civic Center, Manhattan.

11101630_10206895267883098_8836774032189508842_o

One World Trade Center, Freedom Tower.

11108982_10206844724699550_3285333788045855541_n

A quintessential New York City building.

11112702_10206849136609845_1128671658995877110_n

Charlie and Michael at Andrea’s new school in midtown Manhattan.

11143292_10206844720819453_7346724310432502626_n

This was either my first or second night in New York. The light coming from between the buildings was simply gorgeous.

11148725_10206891234982278_6725836174697532380_n

View of the Hudson from along the High Line.

11209698_10206839773495773_6525700892263990818_n

Flatiron Building, midtown Manhattan.

11214389_10206853495518815_8918852605559559429_n

First day of work selfie!

11270221_10206891229302136_8304866925850042662_o

Classic Bowery building. On practically every Instagram account of a typical New York tourist, but still a cool sight to photograph.

11330001_10206847486768600_2137831453045070163_n

Lincoln Square!

11357193_10206849135649821_6469584465608172488_o

Michael wandering on the floor at Andrea’s school.

11389992_10206844717899380_2208953281291807799_n

Found a health market with a make-your-own quinoa bowl bar!

11390072_10206849141049956_5544905108002945931_n

Times Square- between the oversized advertisements and the cliched tourists, it might be the seventh circle of hell.

11390106_10206842284638550_4075350099477069246_n

One of the newest building in Manhattan. It is almost as tall as the Empire State Building, and the top apartment sold for 100 million dollars.

11390189_10206891229542142_2082880937678295258_n

The streets of Nolita.

11391130_10206891231822199_7534579653597548503_n

Chess players in Washington Square Park.

11391397_10206842286318592_3355465132874030169_n

Empire State Building!

11391464_10206895268363110_6516986082652218111_n

Dad and Julie along the High Line on a beautiful, breezy afternoon.

11391639_10206867628592133_2561070671363694223_n

City College of New York in in West Harlem.

11392814_10206891235982303_2866485797695285643_o

A new building along the High Line.

11393278_10206849139889927_3505951117336415720_n

Me in front of the main theater at Lincoln Square.

11401270_10206891234422264_8291670319829396073_n

Strolling along the High Line.

11401492_10206895266563065_8801257688562067622_n

The view from the top of the Freedom Tower.

11401579_10206891236302311_5111819684062361236_n

Hipsters hanging along the High Line.

11403215_10206891230342162_5714210791926208801_n

This. This is amazing. I sadly resisted buying any books.

11406647_10206896938884872_4373441113910223015_n

Sunset over the Hudson River.

11406800_10206867614431779_8363240792589426011_n

Beautiful buildings in Hamilton Heights, a few blocks from my office.

11407043_10206891231102181_4065630360314205423_n

The fountain and arch at Washington Square Park.

11407060_10206888755080282_3752362987078529211_n

Chocolate bon-bons at Stick With Me, a gourmet chocolate shop in the Bowery.

11428049_10206895263842997_9080110680149172415_n

9/11 Memorial at the new World Trade Center.

11429771_10206895267083078_621593540199288261_n

View from the top of the Freedom Tower.

11429971_10206895267523089_7000125174453681722_n

View from the top of the Freedom Tower.

Leave a Reply

